With Or Without A Piggy

Standard

Have I ever told you how much I love my bed?

Oh! I love my bed.
I know, I know:
I love my husband;
I love my kids;
I love my large happy-hour unsweetened easy-ice tea from Sonic;
I love my cat.*

We have to be careful not to water-down the power of the word: LOVE.
But man, oh man, I love my bed.

~~~

Mark bought me this bed twelve years ago during a particularly bad occasion of my Crohn’s Disease. We spent more on it than we were accustomed to spending on a mattress and box-spring set. It was worth it; it’s like sleeping on a cloud – a very large cloud. We super-sized from a double to king! We were hoping that an upgraded bed would upgrade my health.

As I remember, time and a change in my regular meds eventually helped more to improve my health. The purchase of the mattress/ box-spring upgraded my mood, my quality of sleep, and my desire to spend every waking moment, performing every possible household task in my bedroom.

I think it must have come with a ten-year guarantee. We laughed about how very possibly a grandchild could nap on this bed; that was twelve years ago, but no one’s counting.

~~~

Many hours of pleasure have passed on this bed. Alright, what I meant was: watching movies, lots of girl talk, wrestling matches, savasana -my favorite yoga pose- especially while listening to the rain, theological discussions -with dad, mom comfort (broken hearts and stomach viruses can feel eerily similar can’t they?), eating cookies -don’t tell Mark, folding laundry -very zen, blog writing, earnest prayer, kitten and puppy snuggling, dog-piling siblings and friends.

These last two call to mind a song indelibly inked on my brain during a 1970’s John Denver phase:

It was nine feet high and six feet wide
Soft as a downy chick
It was made from the feathers
of forty’leven geese
Took a whole bolt of cloth for the tick
It’d hold eight kids, four hound dogs
And a piggy we stole from the shed
We didn’t get much sleep
but we had a lot of fun
On Grandma’s feather bed

-Jim Conner

Without the piggy, that’s my bed; I love my bed!

~~~

Someone once asked me where was one of my most favorite places in the whole world.
My answer? My bed – piled high with kids, and pets, and cookies, and Mark (if he can stand it, ha! sorry babe).
Can you think of a sweeter place?

~~~

Where’s one of your most favorite, sweetest places in the whole world? May I humbly suggest you make plans to spend some time there as soon as possible…?

~~~

*hey now, no comment from the peanut gallery please.

~

Oh! and one more thing..

While I was writing the other day I glanced at the blog sidebar and noticed You Smell Like Pie has over a hundred followers!

I nearly fell off my chair. Yay, thank you!

Please (your information will NEVER be sold, traded, bartered, or even laughed at) comment below or on Facebook or Tweet me so I can say Hi

See you again on February♥16. And, thanks for reading! ~L~

One response »

Leave a Reply

